Government buying standards (GBS)

Tags: procurement | government | buying

The Government Buying Standards (formerly the Buy Sustainable - Quick Wins) have been designed to make it easier for government buyers to buy sustainably. Currently, there are around 50 standards in ten priority groups - and more are being added on an ongoing basis.

The standards provide official specifications that all government buyers must follow when procuring a range of products including;

  • Cleaning Products
  • Construction
  • Electrical Goods
  • Furniture
  • Gardening Services
  • Office ICT equipment
  • Paper
  • Textiles
  • Transport

The standards also contain information about sustainable procurement and how to apply it when buying, as well as direct links to websites with lists of products which meet the standards.

You can find the Government Buying Standards, and more information on using them within your tender documentation on the Defra Sustainable Development in Government website.